Swedapura Goes to Finland

It was a real treat to be “gifted” a trip to visit the Finnish Lapland and I spent three days going from Helsinki-Rovaniemi-Kemi-Helsinki-Turku-Stockholm. It was a crazy busy schedule but I would do it all again in a heartbeat.

It was my first time exploring Finland and what better way to do it than to go up north. It was not so cold anymore and I was in fact quite overdressed. So if you are afraid of the cold, I would recommend you to visit in March!

Some of the highlights of my trip includes:

IMG_9894

Getting a ride on a reindeer – I did not know that they could go so fast! In fact they were even faster than the huskies.

IMG_9854

Riding a snowmobile – I somehow ended up going solo on the snowmobile but loved every minute of it. Riding on the frozen open sea is just exhilarating.

IMG_9887

Ice Fishing – Well I am mostly proud of the fact that that hole you see right there was made by me. I had no luck with the fish but making the hole was a good workout in itself.

IMG_0057

Or wait…did I catch one? Hahaha!

IMG_0134

Floating in the Baltic Sea – Who would have thought that it is possible to float in the sea and not freeze to death?

IMG_9999

And for my most favourite memory of all…Meeting Santa Claus.

I don’t even believe in Santa Claus but seeing him felt like a fairytale/childhood story come to life and I just felt…ridiculously happy.

This trip was really a trip like no other and I am pretty sure I would make my way back one day.

For a better overview of my trip, check out my new video on Youtube here:

FIN PIC.JPG

Till the next time!

2 thoughts on “Swedapura Goes to Finland

  1. I am glad that You visited Finland! Northernmost part of Finland we call Lapland and it is my favorite area after our Lakeland area. In autumn, it is wonderful to hike on Arctic hills where reindeer roam freely!

    When You visited Kemi, did check if the World’s Biggest Snow Castle was open? Did You knew that in the town called Oulu, just to the South of Kemi, there are held Reindeer driving contests? In the contests, it is possible to rein the reindeer. I show to You my post from this year:

    Reindeer driving competition.

    Thank You for this lovely post.

    Happy and safe travels!

    Like

Leave a Reply

