Swedapura is One

Exactly one year ago, I made the big move from Singapore to Sweden and it is really amazing how quickly time has flown by.

Here is an excerpt of what I wrote on 4th March 2015:

But in spite of all this (referring to the difficult decision of having to leave everything behind), I have made the choice to go because I genuinely believe that this is a great opportunity for me to grow, to learn what it means to struggle, to exercise the true meaning of faith, of hope, of love. I don’t know how life in Sweden will pan out but I trust that God is already before me on this journey.

I have to say that when I wrote this, I did not know or realise the true extent of what I was saying. It was something I believed in but today, I can testify that truly this one year has been a true test of my faith, of what it means to love, of starting from ground zero and completely trusting that everything would work out according to God’s plan.

For that, I am thankful for everything, whether it is the tears or the joys, and with a joyful heart I can sing, God is so good.

Looking back at the pictures from last year, it is so nice to remember how far we have come.

IMG_5393.JPG

This was us making our way from Jens parent’s home in Sätila with a car full of stuff to our new apartment in Stockholm and having to sleep on the floor for a few days because we had no bed.

IMG_5395.JPG

And yes, wow the apartment was once empty!

And of course now if you look at this video, our apartment is anything but empty, even if I only highlighted 8 random things in my apartment.

There is so much more that I want to write about but in essence I just want to say that God works in mysterious ways and there are so many things that our human minds would not be able to understand or “figure out” till it happens and I just want to thank the Lord for putting me in a place where so many times He has spoken to me to “Let Go and Let God.”

I would also like to take this time to thank everyone who has been a part of my journey whether emotionally, spiritually or virtually. It is going to be a long unpredictable road ahead but if anything this year has taught me, it is that whatever happens, God will always be in control.

And with that, here is a brand new Youtube video on Swedapura where I answer questions that you may or may not have been curious about.

Click on the image to be directed to Youtube!

IMG_9800-1

p.s. As a heads up it is 27 mins long so if you make it all the way to the end, I would like to give you a virtual high five!

The journey of figuring out who “Swedapura” is and being the girl with her heart in two places continues but today, we celebrate.

Till the next time!

 

Leave a Reply

