Speaking Swedish

As most of you would know, people in Sweden speak Swedish. Even though most of them are really good with their second language English, it is absolutely necessary to learn Swedish to “fit into society” and have better job opportunities etc.

I cannot say that I have been particularly hardworking with my Swedish (especially speaking!) just because it is really easy to get by with English/basic Swedish. In addition, it has been very helpful that I have been able to understand more, even if I cannot always reply fluently.

IMG_7018

(Picture with my Swedish teacher and classmates from SFI)

I have been with SFI (Swedish for Immigrants) for a couple of months now and while it is great that I can listen to 3 hours of Swedish each time, I know that I need to practice so much more on my own. Some of the various ways that I have been trying to learn include:

1) Watching Swedish TV – I would recommend watching on TV4Play so that you can watch with Swedish subtitles and pause/replay anytime.

2) Reading Swedish newspapers – While it is a little hard, I feel pretty accomplished whenever I go through one article.

3) Subscribing to sites like LearnWithOliver where you can get daily newsletters and do quizzes etc.

So while I am not fluent in Swedish, I thought that it would be fun to do a video where I only speak Swedish so that I can look back in the future and remember where I started. And for anyone curious to know how Swedish sounds like, or rather how I sound when I try to speak Swedish…here you go:

IMG_8027-1

As a disclaimer (especially if you understand Swedish), this is a raw unedited version just because I wanted this video to be a true reflection of my current standard of Swedish. Please be kind!

Also, if you would like to see more of such videos, please feel free to let me know by commenting or liking the video.

Till the next time!

2 thoughts on “Speaking Swedish

Leave a Reply

