Swedapura Goes To Norway (Part 2)

I did not manage to squeeze out another post before my Norway trip but I am now back with Part 2 of my Norwegian adventure! This time around I managed to document bits of my trip on video so I would share the link to the Youtube video at the end of this post.

Instead of doing a day by day recount, I thought that I should instead share a few of my favourites during this trip. My favourite hotel was Ullensvang Hotel. The rooms are not particularly new/modern BUT there are a few key reasons why I really enjoyed my stay there:

1)The view from the hotel is just…so beautiful. They had a bonfire going the first night I was there so we could chill by the water and enjoy the view while still staying warm.

IMG_7798

Just had to include one more picture. And if you follow me on Instagram, you would have seen their swimming pool. I wished I had the time to swim but it seemed almost comparable to swimming at MBS’s infinity pool.

IMG_7802

2) Their buffet spreads was the best hotel food I had the whole trip. Every night we were spoilt for choice with a mixture of cold seafood and hot roast meats. They even had crayfish, hehe! Plus their dessert spread was too good to resist. I had a plate of many small pieces of at least 8 different types of cake each night.

IMG_7731

3) Most of all, their service was the best. I don’t know if it is because it is a family business but it was my first time visiting a hotel where the manager would specially welcome you and bid you farewell. The staff were also all very cheerful and helpful. At the Bergen hotel we stayed in (not sure if I should name it), the front desk staff always had a sour look on their face and it was such a turnoff.

My favourite little town was Aurland. I think I enjoyed it the most because of the company I had whilst I was there. I had spicy instant noodles and local beer with fellow Asians after a rainy day out, took evening walks around the area and enjoyed this view every day/night.

IMG_7850

It was also where we went hiking and I had the opportunity to meet this Norwegian guide who was so enthusiastic with teaching us Norwegian songs. And in case you are wondering, he did do the whole hike with that umbrella in his hand, haha!

IMG_7834

My favourite meal was at Cornelius Restaurant. I don’t know if I was just really hungry or because it was the most expensive meal but it was really really good. This was the Hake main course and everything was so fresh and went so well together. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Bergen.

IMG_7889

Finally ending off this post with a rare sight of a sunny day in Bergen since it is usually always raining there. Click on this link to watch my little Norwegian vlog!

IMG_7693

Till the next time!

2 thoughts on “Swedapura Goes To Norway (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

