On turning 25

25

I have to admit that I still feel very much 21 at heart and it has only started sinking in slowly that I am edging closer to the “other side” of 20 and it is about time I “grow up” and be an adult. I know it sounds a bit exaggerated but honestly, life in Singapore has always been very comfortable and easy.

I have been very blessed to have parents who dote on and take such great care of my siblings and I. Before I moved to Sweden, my Dad would drive me to and from the MRT station everyday and my Mum would wake up early every morning to prepare a lunchbox for me to bring to work. There was always food in the fridge and the household chores were all looked after. I know I don’t say it enough but thank you Mum and Dad and I miss you guys.

Now that I am so far away from home, I have had to learn very quickly how to do everything myself and I am thankful that I can do it in a country like Sweden. Jean always reminds me that I am living in a first world country and I don’t have to worry about lacking in anything.

Being 25 in a brand new home away from home, I want to challenge myself with the following for the new year ahead:

1. To be brave

It is definitely scary being so far away from everything that feels familiar and meeting new people is always daunting but I want to be brave, to give new things a go, to not be afraid to fail, to live life fully.

2. To remain steadfast in faith

I am thankful for the opportunity to rediscover my faith here and to recognise that no matter where I am, no matter what language I speak, I am still praising the same God.

3. To give love and bring joy

I have been very blessed by the people that have been placed in my life, who have loved me before I could even love myself and for those people who have shown me kindness even when they didn’t really know me. I hope to be able to give love unconditionally and to bring joy to the people around me.

To end of, here is a very cute video put together by my sis Jean which is a compilation of my family and friends dancing and lip syncing. I have probably watched at least 10 times already. Thank you all for sending your love and putting in time to film yourselves, hahaha! I do miss home and each and everyone of you very very much.

Till the next time!

Leave a Reply

